- Community
- Council Archives
- Environment
- Places
- Research
- Special Collections
Menu
- Community
- Council Archives
- Environment
- Places
- Research
- Special Collections
Bondi Hotel
1920 - present
Hotel Bondi has been a beach-front feature for over 100 years but struggled to survive in its early days. Taking four years to build on the corner of Campbell Parade and Curlewis Street, it opened in 1920 to cater for the growing but still small tourist trade at Bondi.
The hotel was constructed to a design by architect E. Lindsay Thompson for the brewing company Reschs Ltd, before becoming part of the Tooth brewery portfolio when the company bought its rival in 1929. The hotel opened in November 1920 and proved not to be the “white elephant” some were predicting. A publicity brochure for the hotel promised that it “meets the demand of the most exacting. Perfectly situated, with a glorious view over the Pacific” giving “practical comfort that few Hotels can offer”. At the time, sceptics thought its distance from the centre of Sydney would lead to its failure. Add to that there was the fact that there were no other buildings nearby, and that the southerlies often drove sand and rain under the door. Nevertheless, it soon became popular, not only as a drinking spot for the locals, but as a place where visitors liked to stay. A photo from 1951 is testimony to its popularity.
The building is heritage listed for its distinctive architecture that combines Italianate, Federation and Free Classical elements, and its landmark importance in the beach streetscape. Its most distinctive architectural features include four storeys with square corner tower and strong frontages to both streets with four-storey verandah to Campbell Parade with individually styled balustrading and recessed balconies on the Curlewis Street façade. Its original face brick is now painted, with render used for decoration, but its’ rusticated columns, mouldings on lower arches, high cornices. and elliptical arches on the top verandah with keystones are original details.
Nevertheless, the building deteriorated so much that a proposal for its redevelopment was made to Waverley Council. This proposal wanted to demolish the hotel and replace it with a 13 storey building. News of this proposal led to a spirited objection from many locals who appealed to both the Heritage Council and the National Trust of Australia, both of which made a submission to the local Council. The Heritage Council recommended that the new building be limited to 4 storey and retain the original design. Waverley Council referred the application to its Works and Development Committee, which reported on Tuesday, 20th November 1984 that the Hotel “is a tangible element in the history of the Bondi, as well as the wider Sydney, community.” Council deferred approval, but then the NSW State Government intervened by ordering an environmental study of the whole Bondi beach front. Eventually the proposal was rejected.
Today the site is still a much loved watering hole for visitors and locals alike.
Images courtesy the Waverley Library Local Studies Collection.




